12
Mar
09

Carnaval In The Oriente Part Dos

shuar-girl-2

My favorite Shuar girl photo

In addition to showering everyone with water, Carioca foam and visiting the Shuar which was touristy but fun and interesting we visited zoos (the Ecuadorians seem to dote on capturing animals from the eastern part of the country) – this would correspond to the Amazon watershed/rainforest.  The condition of the zoos ranged from decent to pretty awful.  I’ve tried to show the animals as unfettered but you could see the behavior of being caged for years on end.

Many or all of the zoos styled themselves as animal rescue as well and so, I suppose, they are doing a good job.

jaguar-head-3

And this young tigrillo that tagged this gringo’s shirt with one claw as I was taking a photo of the “bush dog”tigrillo-in-zoo

Here’s the bush dog or perro de la selva that I was intent on photographing when the tigrillo tagged my shirt and nearly my chestBush Dog (speothos venaticus)Speothos venaticus

squirrel-monkeys-park

The Orichedeario at Fatimafatima-lavender-orchid

fatima-chocolate-orchid

Not to mention bromeliads

fatima-bromeliad-5

fatima-bromeliad-4b

Next, something completely different and manmade the hydroelectric dam at Paute which supplies Ecuador with over 50% of it’s electricity.

7 Responses to “Carnaval In The Oriente Part Dos”


  1. 1 Tiffany Parker
    January 18, 2010 at 7:15 am

    hey Terry my name is Tiffany Parker and i am a part of Port St.lucie high Schols international Bacculerette program and for one of my projects i would like to use your jaguar picture. i will give you credit in my project page .. so let me know if i may use it please and thank you 🙂
    have a nice day_

  2. 3 Tiffany Parker
    January 7, 2010 at 4:57 am

    Hi Terry, my name is Tiffany Parker and i am a part of Port St.lucie high schools I.B program. For my ITGS project i would like to use one of you photos. i will give you credit in my project. Thanks hope to here from you soon!

  3. December 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Hi Terry my name is Lourraine Souza from Port Saint .Lucie, fl and I was wondering if you would allow me to use your jaguar head photo for a school internal assessment project for my website because the jaguar is our school mascots. I will not be making money out of this project it is strictly for school purposes only. If you can get back to me and let me know I will appreciate it.
    Thank you

  4. March 12, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Bee U T Full… Gr8 Pix! / Cold and clear here today. Had to scrape ice off the windshield to get to work this am. I’m sure you are missing it… lol


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Terry's Flickr Photostream

Atomic explosion finger

Trump grafitti w ball gag

Naked Trump horizontal

Naked trump - the verge.com

Naked trump butt

Screenshot 2016-06-12 at 9.21.49 AM

Lena the hyena

Lena the hyena II

The Republican Clowncar 2016

Screenshot 2016-01-17 at 9.37.21 AM

More Photos

Categories

Witness

Dead Vlei - Namib-Naukluft National Park

Copyright 2010 – Terry Doyle


